Return to the Main Menu
The Twin Pines
The Twin Pines (January 1, 2002. Special Performance. Shite: Kiyokazu Kanze)
The mae-shite in act 1 normally wears a ko-jo mask, a jo-gami wig, a mizu-goromo outer robe, and a white okuchi.

The Old Pine, Po Chu-i, The Twin Pines, The Bow of Hachiman Shrine, The Care of the Aged, The Goddess of the Cherry Blossoms, The Queen Mother of the West, Kamo, The God of Shirahige Shrine, The Bamboo Isle of the Goddess Benten, etc.

First-group Noh are often called Waki Noh (because they come beside [waki] the play Okina) or God Noh, and they are plays whose main characters are mostly deities who bless the land with peace and bountiful harvests, or that are filled with auspicious words relating the tale of a shrine or temple. Most of them are fantasy Noh.

The Twin Pines (Takasago) was written by Zeami. Act 1: A Shinto priest (waki) who is traveling to Kyoto from Aso Shrine in Kyushu meets an aged couple (mae-shite; tsure) who are caring for the famous pine tree on the Bay of Takasago in Harima Province. The couple explains all about the twin pines of Takasago and Sumiyoshi, offer congratulations on the prosperity of the Way of Poetry, and then disappear, after revealing that they are in fact the spirits of the two trees. Act 2: When the priest later arrives at Sumiyoshi in the province of Settsu, the God of Sumiyoshi (nochi-shite) appears, performs an exciting dance, and then blesses the land with peace. Its structure is typical of a God Noh play.

First-group Noh
Second-group Noh
Third-group Noh
Fourth-group Noh
Fifth-group Noh
Return to "Types of Noh Plays" Menu
Return to the Main Menu
Copyright 2004, by the Japan Arts Council. All rights reserved.